I nostri utenti hanno scritto un totale di 4,158 recensioni sui concerti. Questa pagina è un grande modo per esplorare nuovi o vecchi fantastici concerti o raccolte, basta solo aggiornare la pagina per vedere cose nuove. I concerti maggiormente valutati sono basati su concerti con più di due recensioni. Tu stesso puoi scrivere una recensione se sei stato o ascoltato un concerto, e ti invitiamo a farlo!

Experience and Innocence tour

3 recensioni sono state scritte da 3 users.

2017-11-11 - London

Scritto da Anam - 5 giorni fa

Is there a man alive that could look as cool as Adam Clayton in that illustrated trench coat? I very much doubt it. 'Cool' was the thought for the evening on a perishingly cold Trafalgar Square and it felt a very long time since that sunny and warm July day at Twickenham.

Even so, the set list had a familiar feel to it, with Sunday Bloody Sunday and Pride opening proceedings, followed by a brace of new songs. Get Out of Your Own Way came across very well with shimmering guitar bolstered by powerful drums and bass and a rousing chorus. You're the Best Thing About Me's distinctive riff sounds like it has been around for years.

Things warmed up considerably during the trio of Joshua Tree Tour encores Beautiful Day, Elevation and Vertigo before One closed the main set in typically contemplative fashion. This was not a normal U2 show, however, and what followed was a re-run of Get Out of Your Own Way for a video shoot complete with protest signs in the radical spirit of Trafalgar Square demonstrations past. It's a great song and I felt very priviliged to see both its first and second live outings. It will surely be a staple in the 2018 setlist.

All in all an odd, non-gig, but great fun and well worth braving the elements. With the new record just weeks away, and a new tour just over the horizon, these are great days to be a U2 fan.

Eternal thanks to redpanda27 over at Zootopia. Go raibh míle maith agat, J.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:


Joshua Tree Tour 2017

220 recensioni sono state scritte da 172 users.

2017-06-23 - Toronto

Scritto da Hwy_Girl - 3 mesi fa

“FULL CIRCLE”

A circle:
-a perfectly round shape
-a line that is curved so its ends meet and every point on the line is equally far away from a single point inside.

I was thinking about many things after the show in Toronto on Friday June 23rd. A U2 show is a lot to process and I’m not sure I have even fully done that yet. I am, however, very thankful I will get to see the show again from a different vantage point. This night, I was fortunate to be front and center on the floor by the main stage. Being close enough to see the band member’s faces is something I know I will never forget. Even so, I know there are nuances that I missed. Reflecting back, somehow I kept coming back to the idea of circles and the various ways they were represented in this show.

It began with a crack in the ceiling then a strip of light as the Dome began to open shortly before U2 went on. This wasn’t a given as it had been raining earlier in the evening. Letting the light in was powerful agent for change, shifting and lifting the mood inside the stadium. That semicircle of light transformed the Rogers Centre from a concrete cavern to a hemisphere cradling thousands that literally got a breath of life and light. It was so fitting, then, that Bono had Leonard Cohen on his mind that night.

“There is a crack in everything.
That's how the light gets in."

When the “twinkles” for Bad began, the Rogers Center became its own galaxy. During Bad (with an extended snippet of Cohen’s Suzanne) we were all points of light in some semicircular constellation pulled inexorably into the band’s orbit. The spirit of Leonard Cohen, I’m sure, was present in our galaxy that night too.

A cycle is such because when you reach the end, you begin again. Sunday Bloody Sunday, New Year's Day and Pride feel as powerful and anthemic as they did when first released.
"I, I will begin again..." proclaims a new cycle and by singing the album lyrics the song gets a new twist in live performance.


One narrative thread of the show seen most clearly during Sunday Bloody Sunday, Bad and One, In God’s Country and Miss Sarajevo has Bono encouraging us to break cycles of addiction, behavior, violence, governance and negative power structures. Many of the organizations supported by the band recognize the cyclical nature of these issues and work to break and interrupt them to promote positive change.


That gorgeous, endless highway seen during Where The Streets Have No Name is like a circle that has no beginning and no end but in the context of the giant screen filled with Anton Corbijn’s sparsely beautiful imagery, manages to undo itself into a linear path that for multitudes stretches to another, higher place in our hearts and souls.

Black and white Joshua trees fill the screen for I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For reminding us of the tree as it lived and stood tall in 1987. Seeing these vigorous live trees and knowing the original Joshua tree has fallen brings to mind cycles of living and dying. The album tree’s image is echoed in outline towering above the stage, its fallen counterpart the footprint that makes up the “tree stage” used at the opening and closing of the show.

Bono releasing the songs to the fans during With or Without You, "These songs are yours now! Sing your heart out!" takes them out of the stars, out of unreachable orbit, and brings them back down to earth, to us, the fans, both those who embraced and believed in them thirty years ago and those who continue to do so today. For a gift like that, I'll give up a coda.

Bullet the Blue Sky is a shape-shifter, spiraling into a new version to fit the times and tone of the day. Always pointed, poignant and hard-hitting, its many iterations over its 30 year existence are described in-depth in the Tour Book.

The beautiful oxymoron that is Running To Stand still describes that circle of destructive behaviour, like a dog chasing its tail. How Running to Stand Still winds up being bleak but not hopeless is just one of the musical miracles in this album.

With the invitation of "Welcome to Side 2!" the circle flips. This has been a nostalgic moment during the show hearkening back to albums and cassettes for fans who remember the interaction of having to turn the media to keep listening. Hearing Bono say, "This band is finally getting to know this album – Side 2 of it anyway, which we haven't played in all these yrs." is an absolute highlight!

Bono's delight with his performance of Red Hill Mining Town was clearly evident this night. Singing, "From father to son..." invokes the circle of family succession - another layer of meaning that must be an element in this presentation of the Joshua Tree tour. Perhaps the theme of family wasn't so much at the forefront in 1987. Certainly a song like Mothers of the Disappeared takes on new weight when you have children of your own. I missed watching for the visual of Bono's son and Edge's daughter on the screen at the end of the show. It is a nod to the future and the circle of life.


Side 2 has another circle supported very clearly with visuals on screen. Witnessing this one is much more fun: That circle of a lasso looping around - circling, circling, never touching in the sexy courtship dance that is Trip Through Your Wires.

During One Tree Hill the full, round, red orb of moon shines; the perfect shape of a circle is a fitting tribute to those who have left us too soon.

Then suddenly, there’s a break and another narrative takes over:
Life imitating art. With the help of an obscure black and white 50s film clip, our Irish shaman is preaching in his latest incarnation as the Shadow Man. Bono swirling and circling around the mic stand / pole has us mesmerized. When he calls, “Hold out your hand!” - we comply. We are transfixed as the show reaches its zenith. Repatriating Exit to the live set is exhilarating and satisfying.

The encore brought to mind concentric circles rippling out from a pebble thrown into a pond illustrating the effects of individual and corporate activism during One, Ultraviolet and Miss Sarajevo. It’s said the victor writes history. During this tour, Ultraviolet undergoes a metamorphosis from an intensely personal song to become an anthem for the cause of starting a new lap in the race that is human history with “Herstory”.

This tour has me thinking about the circle is a round disc of vinyl. Pressed with grooves, it makes an album. Respecting that body of work that is an album by performing it in its entirety, in sequence, opens an interesting dialogue for planning shows and perhaps opens a door for future album performances (feel free to read Achtung here!).

Indulge me for a few other circle references in closing:
A circle of trust between fans helping other fans to get tickets.
Arms encircling friends old and new with hugs as fans met each other for the first time or again after years.
Fans echoing the chorus to Mothers Of The Disappeared after the band left the stage for the encore break looped me back to the October 3rd, 1987 show singing 40 while exiting Exhibition Stadium after the show.

Calling for I Will Follow which was not on the printed set list closed the show and brought it full circle. "Your eyes make a circle..." had the band simultaneously looking ahead to Songs of Experience and glancing over their shoulder in a nod to their genesis with Boy.

Thirty years ago I was pulled into the band’s orbit on the first Joshua Tree tour and I’ve been pulled by the gravity of their music ever since. For myself, and many other fans, this tour brings us full circle.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2017-05-12 - Vancouver da Birdman33ca votato

This was almost a few different shows blended into 1 for me. The opening songs on the B stage were..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2017-07-29 - Amsterdam da Happy24 votato

Here is my report from the two Amsterdam concerts. I am quite late and it is probably impossible to write..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2017-09-10 - Indianapolis da Hoosier2012 votato

Well, the day started quite early. It was quite dark and cold in the wristband line at 5 AM, and..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Innocence and Experience tour

284 recensioni sono state scritte da 174 users.

2015-10-10 - Barcelona

Scritto da u2fancat - 2 anni fa

#4 of 4. This was U2's last night in Spain.. and I was there! Got up nice and late - it was quite breezy, so I took an overshirt with me: coat still not required, of course. I headed into Placa de Catalunya, figuring I'd take it from there. Google Maps was kind enough to inform me that my handiest route there was to take either the L94 or L95 bus, which headed to just off the square. And I put my ticket in the machine the right way around, for once. :-)

I was somewhat concerned that the LCD display showing the stop names was practically illegible - both on the outward and return journeys, the text was in a watery yellow that blended nicely into the black background. But as we passed a stop on the way in, I noticed the departure board, which said that the destination of my bus was, in fact, Placa de Catalunya. Lovely - the terminus.

I got off and wondered where to go for brunch - my first priority. A quick look around didn't reveal much, and I didn't want to spend too long looking - I was too hungry. I finally decided that the huge department store, El Corté Inglés, might be my best bet - they surely had a café, and it would surely be both reasonably priced and have fairly standard dishes, so no translation problems.

It turned out I had to go all the way to the ninth floor.. where they have a restaurant, which I considered, but the people in front of me exchanged some words with a waiter and left, and it looked very much as though they needed to have reserved. Instead, I queued for the more casual café - still with table service, but no tablecloths, no glasses or cutlery left on the tables, and paper placemats and boxes of napkins. I didn't really have to queue for long, despite how busy the place was.

Despite the busyness, service was decently quick. I dithered between the chicken, which sounded tastier, and the beef escalope with spaghetti and chips, which sounded more filling, and which my hunger chose. Same brunch as Tuesday, in fact! And a glass of wine. And it was very nice. The chips were actually terrific - you know how good chips can taste, but rarely do? These were such chips. For dessert - by which time things had calmed down a bit - I, of course, had the "death by chocolate" (I can rarely resist that), which in this case was a chocolate sponge slice with chocolate filling and dark chocolate beads on top. And it was sooo good.. I'd definitely go back there for that alone!

By this time, it was too hot to be bothered exploring any more, and I waited in the shade, in a cool breeze, for the bus back to the hotel. Still, it was a relief when it came, and again when the aircon started. I recognised my stop from the buildings we passed - the indicator board was useless again.

After a relaxing afternoon, which featured another nap, I headed out. I must be getting fit - the walk didn't knock as much out of me that evening! Bought a Cedarwood Road t-shirt, which had caught my eye the day before.

So, I was in the front row of my section. This time, however, it was towards the back - more so than the night before. The people at the very back, who are at the wrong side of the vidi-wall, get a smaller, dedicated screen, at right angles to the vidi-wall, showing footage of both stages and the vidi-wall. From where I was sitting, I had a good view of both screens. And I noticed that Bono spent much of his time on the "e" stage singing directly to the people at the back.

It's becoming something of a hobby of mine to watch the crowd's reaction to something they weren't expecting to happen. It seems that the word has gone around that when the band say goodbye, they don't mean it, there's more to come - but it was nice to see that several things in the concert still surprised them. And they STILL don't know that the band don't come on until People Have the Power starts to play.. and even then, not immediately..

Once they'd started, I noticed something I hadn't noticed before on this tour - as usual, the further away you are, the more of the spectacle you get to see. Being too close has its disadvantages. People with seats at the back, take heart. Now, a funny thing happened to me tonight - I'm finding that, the more of these concerts I go to, the more into them I'm getting. In fact, for the first four songs, I lost it completely that night.. For their second song, they cycle among three - Gloria, The Electric Co., and Out of Control. For my money, Gloria holds the crown, among these three, of Best Live Song. I always loved seeing it live, and I'm stoked that it's such a regular on this tour - doesn't usually happen! Again, Mrs. Bono was in the house, as mentioned by Bono at the start of Song For Someone, written for her.

Now, the pattern thus far has been that, for Mysterious Ways, Bono brings a girl onstage to dance with him, then she films the band doing a number, which is streamed live on Meerkat. Sometimes, they bring a guy up from the audience to play guitar on that number. Well, Bono was in a mischievous mood, and ever the champion of equal opportunities, he brought up a girl to play guitar, and a guy to dance with. The guy wore one of those glittery cowboy hats and a feather boa, and threw some real shapes. Until his irate wife appeared onstage, ordering him to get down! He complied, after making sure she got a shot of him with each member of the band. Bono got her to do the Meerkat stream - half of which came out upside-down! Then he had a chat with her. "Are you local? Are you from Barcelona?" "I'm from Spain." "What's your name?" "Penélope"..

"So, that would be.. his Bardem-ness?" teased Bono. Yes, these were Penélope Cruz (in a wig) and her husband, Javier Bardem, who - I guess - stayed for the after-show party. Turns out they're enthusiastic supporters of the Red campaign. We may not have had the tv crews there like the night before, but what a show they missed! And then Bono sang Spanish Eyes, for Penélope of course. About time - I was wondering whether he'd ever get around to it in this, the only Spanish city on their tour!

On this occasion, it was October that moved me to tears. And it seems that rounding off the show with Bad and 40 is a staple for the last night in any city. What a night! What a week! What a city! Truly memorable. Oh, but I can't wait for the tour to hit London, on the 25th (you know I'll be there..)
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2015-12-06 - Paris da LocalHero votato

I'm french and I do not write properly in English, sorry.

Paris, Sunday, December 6, 2015. A fabulous concert, amazing,..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2015-07-27 - New York da phenshaw votato

So a bit of background, which will add or detract credibility from my review!

I’ve seen them 7 times..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2015-11-27 - Dublin da u2fancat votato

This close to the front, I figured I wouldn't be bothered by vexatious people wanting me to sit - and..
Leggi la recensione completa »


U2 360° Tour

725 recensioni sono state scritte da 365 users.

2009-09-23 - East Rutherford

Scritto da EDDMB - 8 anni fa

I loved this show."The Manhattan skylin,The City Of Blinding Lights".Bonos great quote.Nothing like seeing the band band here.Your Blue Room was great.The spacestation sequence during this song was very well done.NLOTH sounded fantastic.I was happy the old classic NYD was played,even though Adam butchered it, while Bono was introducing him.Kinda a funny moment,the band get lost,and Bono calls from the Edge to solo.Im glad they have played it only here and there,and not every night.Ultra Violet,well done.I liked the red microphone.Bono was swinging on it and almost crashed into Edge.My only regret was not hearing Bad either night.As I have mentioned many times over,MOS is a weak song to close a great show with.Alot of fans walked out during the song.IMO All I want Is You or Bad or....ANY classic would be better fitting to close the gig.But the crowd was great for me,we loved it,great seats,great band,and of course, in the great Metropolitan area NY/NJ. See you in 2010.Cheers !!!!!
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2011-06-18 - Anaheim da ahn1991 votato

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2011-06-18 - Anaheim da bushido529 votato

This was my 1st GA show for any U2 show, i'll say that this was my greatest concert experience ever...
Leggi la recensione completa »

2009-09-24 - East Rutherford da EDDMB votato

I really enjoyed this show.MUSE were great both nights opening for the boys.I liked the fact the band mixed up..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Vertigo Tour

420 recensioni sono state scritte da 126 users.

2006-02-12 - Monterrey

Scritto da Bloodraven - 2 anni fa

20 years of my life waiting to see them, and this is what I got.

The crowd was disappointing, even before getting to the stadium, maybe it's just anecdotal evidence, but there were a lot of people going because it would be cool to say "I went to see U2" even if they didn't know nothing but a couple of songs.

In the stadium, around me I was the only weirdo singing and screaming and jumping while everyone else just stared me from their own seats as if we were at some symphonic orchestra instead of at a U2 show.

In my mind it was just a "not-so-awesome" experience, but when I downloaded and listened to the bootleg it came back to me and no. It was not just "not-so-awesome". It was terrible.
The bootleg is even worse than reality with the few guys around the mic talking through the whole show.

Cielito Lindo was a bad choice itself for Bad, but it was worse that it was the only thing people decided to sing along. It looked like they didn't cared about Bad or anything else on the concert, oh but they can sing Cielito Lindo. I had forgotten how embarrased I felt at the moment (after the initial couple of seconds of "oh, that's cool!" when Bono started it), but the bootleg reminded it to me.

Finally, even after Love And Peace or Else had already started, the guys near the microphone in the bootleg are still discussing and betting that it's Desire what they're about to play.
I said finally because that's all that I could take and deleted it on the spot. Didn't even finished the song.

It was so bad I would find it funny if I hadn't been there.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2005-03-28 - San Diego da cesar_garza01 votato

Here it is, the first Vertigo show. Technically not the debut of the songs (there was a rehearsal in L.A...
Leggi la recensione completa »

2005-06-18 - London da EDDMB votato

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2005-09-21 - Chicago da cesar_garza01 votato

In this show even the standard Vertigo songs shine: one of the best Electric Co. (there's a See Me, Feel..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Elevation Tour

331 recensioni sono state scritte da 88 users.

2001-10-25 - New York

Scritto da oddjob102 - 8 anni fa

I was at this concert. It was my first time back in NYC after 9/11, and you could feel the tension in the air- it was still fresh on everyone's mind. The setlist was perfect- almost every song seemed custom made for the way we were all feeling, or wanted to feel- even the ones written 20 years before. "Streets" was a particular highlight. And during the encore, Bono was wearing a NYPD t-shirt and hat, and all the police officers and firefighters in the house joined him onstage. The house lights were on, everyone was smiling... it was an amazing experience and went a long way to making us feel good again. I'll never forget it, it was the best concert I have ever been to.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2001-10-31 - Providence da cesar_garza01 votato

A great find in the Elevation tour and one of the best setlists of the tour. Very electric start of..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2001-08-15 - Birmingham da MattG votato

I enjoyed this listen, but the sound unfortunately knocks this one down to a 3.5 for me. Worth a listen..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2001-11-30 - Atlanta da cesar_garza01 votato

A special show for many reasons. We all know the circumstances after 9/11. Plus, George Harrison died the day before..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Popmart

339 recensioni sono state scritte da 106 users.

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg

Scritto da nfsmulder - 9 mesi fa

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo excited. A dream came true. There’s this ultra marathon in South Africa - 90 kilometres (60 miles?). Once the winner commented looking @ the crowd still finishing in the heat 7 hours after him, that they experience the true spirit of the event. So was the U2 concert. 35 metres from the front or was it 50? Seeing the screen beautifully, but having to stretch to see the stars we wanted to thrill kiss, hold, &kill :-). Afterwards smelling from beer, nicotine, marijuana and dripping from sweat, but happy after a truly spiritual experience. It was the best worship of God I ever had (even better than church where I lead it) when we pleaded with God in 40 and throughout.

The event was broadcast semi-live over national television. Semi because the show started 9:30 and on tv @ 10 so they could squeze commercials in - so popmartish :-).

Looking 2 the show afterwards on tv I got the best of both worlds. Live the vibe and crowd…..tv the quality and some moments you missed in the crowd.

I taped it from my VCR to tape - great listen in the car. Anybody wanna trade? I need Achtung baby & Zooropa on CD.

What a mess afterwards. Interesting - selling beer in plastic bottles - good thing :-). Were there from 5:00. Tickets (ours) cost 170 rand each for me and my youngest brother - I made him the U2 fan year’s ago, so he bought the tickets. We sang “how long to sing this song probably for 5 minutes and heard some music and went wild!!!

But that wasn’t them. Just a cd. Then: looking for baby Jesus under the trash.

U2 - thanx for blessing us. We’ll pray for you guys. Peace to you and fans all around the world.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1997-12-12 - Seattle da Thefredmartin votato

Hey Lads and Lassies! It's been a long time since this show, nearly twenty years, but it's a story I've..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1997-05-31 - East Rutherford da EDDMB votato

Well,as I said,I was down on the band at this point.Thank God they woke up and went back to basics..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1997-06-12 - Winnipeg da Pegpop votato

On Thursday, June 12th, 42,270 U2 fans were ready to welcome the band to the prairies. It was the Canadian..
Leggi la recensione completa »


ZOO TV

501 recensioni sono state scritte da 133 users.

1992-11-10 - San Diego

Scritto da cesar_garza01 - 3 anni fa

A great Outside Broadcast show, just after the 92 U.S. Presidential elections. Bono talks about that before and after ISHFWILF.
Let me start with the bad: the sound is not that good during When Love Comes To Town, we hear the audience better than the band in that song. Bono also had some problems at the beginning of MW and then with the harmonica in RTSS. I'm not sure if this is bad, but Edge's solo in MW started in a weird way, but he recovered quickly.
Still, there are a lot of reasons to listen to this bootleg:
- It's ZooTV Outside Broadcast! All songs were performed quite good. Gotta love the Mirrorball Man and his "I have a vision" speech. It was particularly good that day, with the elections and B. Clinton becoming president.
-The new source has very good sound overall.
- UTEOTW was excellent. This performance later appeared in the Alternative NRG: Greenpeace Compilation album.
- Bono changed or improvised the lyrics in a lot of songs, like One, Satellite Of Love, BTBS. The intro of NYD is very unique, I loved it.
- WTSHNN was excellent, especially at the end with Bono singing the high notes beautifully.
- I'm not a fan of ZooTV SBS, but it was pretty good that day.

EDIT: I previously stated that this boot was incomplete, but it has been updated now and luckily for us, no song is missing.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1992-06-11 - Stockholm da germcevoy votato

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1993-06-12 - Cologne da GoneBad votato

At that time, I was overwhelmed by the sheer size, dimension and loudness of the event. It was my first..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1993-06-04 - Munich da MattG votato

My ratings were pretty much consistent 3.5's all the way across the board, and here's why. This show wasn't terrible...
Leggi la recensione completa »


Lovetown

175 recensioni sono state scritte da 72 users.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

Scritto da MWSAH - 9 anni fa

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1989-12-27 - Dublin da CMIPalaeo votato

This show is excellent, all the Point Depot ones are. This is seriously one of the best things you will..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1989-12-11 - Paris da cesar_garza01 votato

What a way to start Lovetown in Europe! The crowd was already going nuts even during the PA songs and..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1989-11-18 - Sydney da cesar_garza01 votato

A very special show for multiple reasons: they had to evacuate the venue due to a bomb threat (sounds familiar?),..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Joshua Tree Tour

293 recensioni sono state scritte da 95 users.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Scritto da bodoheil - 2 anni fa

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1987-07-15 - Madrid da LikeASong votato

When the Where The Streets Have No Name organ sounded over the 125k people on the stadium and lights went..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia da viridian1 votato

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City da IAFAN votato

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Conspiracy Of Hope

21 recensioni sono state scritte da 10 users.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Scritto da MattG - 7 anni fa

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

248 recensioni sono state scritte da 68 users.

1985-03-21 - Chicago

Scritto da Ali709 - 9 anni fa

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very good recording if you’re looking for the same thing as I was. I might suggest this other show as well, it’s got a longer and a bit better setlist (includes Indian Summer Sky, Surrender, Two Hearts Beat As One,...): 1984-10-23 - Nantes, France - St. Herblain (I found it right after having posted Chicago as this week’s bootleg!).

The whole bootleg and show are just great (talking about this week's show, not Nantes mentioned in the last paragraph!!)! Also, it’s interesting to hear them when they weren’t as big as they are now. The ego hadn’t done its work yet, they are a band who has just become famous and big…you can hear Bono’s comments that reflect this (telling the CBS people: “you want some people? Come up here!” or the comments before Knockin’… there is another part where he says they used to have 500 people watching them and that he’s glad there are so many watching now).

**Comments: Just wanted to point this out…it’s interesting how similar this show sounds to Joshua Tree Tour shows (particularly Paris 87, as I was listening to it at the same time). Of course, JT had new songs and a more confident band…but the (very short) speeches/comments (such as “for a very special man…” or “this is a big place but we’re bigger than this place”) and performances are very similar, which shows they didn’t spend as much time as they do now on how the tours should be, it REALLY was only about the music (though maybe we’re lucky that they changed their manners, or all the shows would be the same, up till now! )
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1984-11-06 - Glasgow da Edi votato

We were all young. The place was crammed. U2 were already massive in Glasgow by the end of 1982 and..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1984-11-05 - Edinburgh da aussiemofo votato

I recommend this bootleg for those wanting to capture U2 in full flight during their TUF period. They were in..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1985-02-04 - Milan da CMIPalaeo votato

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All..
Leggi la recensione completa »


War Tour

169 recensioni sono state scritte da 57 users.

1983-06-05 - Denver

Scritto da EDDMB - 7 anni fa

Classic.Just epic show.The band really found themselves at this time.Their live shows were so great.Just the band,the music was so powerful.The War songs took over.SBS,NYD,THBAO,Seconds and of course 40.This show has my favorite version of Tick Tock.I also loved the full version of Electric Co that was released on the vinal in 1983 from West Germany'83.Im dating myself I know.When the cd was released a few years later,for copyright reasons,the band cut out the "send in the clowns" snippet.I always loved that part of the song.You have that here in this recording from Denver.Nothing is cut.There is only a slight skip during I Fall Down.This is one of their great moments,that defIned U2.Grab this one.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1983-02-26 - Dundee da ahn1991 votato

The only reason I gave this bootleg a 4 star rating is because Like A Song is performed live.

This..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1983-02-26 - Dundee da nickbibby votato

A real gem for me. Loved the set list, especially the inclusion of Like A Song for the only..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1982-12-06 - London da CMIPalaeo votato

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Leggi la recensione completa »


October Tour

108 recensioni sono state scritte da 29 users.

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam

Scritto da cesar_garza01 - 2 anni fa

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show is no exception. For the October tour, the band reworked some of their Boy songs and they sound better than ever. Another Time, Another Place, An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart, Stories for Boy are highlights of the show. The October songs are always better than their studio counterparts and the broadcast has great sound for them here. During 11 O'Clock Bono plays with the audience and it sounds incredible (he did that for the whole tour, I love these October versions). After Fire, they sang Happy Birthday to Larry. By taking pieces of all 3 sources of this show, you can form a great, complete bootleg for this show. This is the first great full October bootleg and one of the best.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1982-07-04 - Werchter da cesar_garza01 votato

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1982-03-17 - New York da cesar_garza01 votato

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1982-01-26 - Dublin da daymo1202 votato

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Boy Tour

117 recensioni sono state scritte da 42 users.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Scritto da Dystopian45 - 1 anno fa

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco da CMIPalaeo votato

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-06-09 - London da germcevoy votato

Good show, good recording, good performance. Solid all round. How great is it to think that people in the audience..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-01-24 - Glasgow da BigGiRL votato

From Pimm Jal de la Parra, U2 Live - A Concert Documentry:

Before Twilight Bono points to the 'Boy' backdrop.
..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Early Days

33 recensioni sono state scritte da 21 users.

1979-10-05 - Cork

Scritto da cornellazar - 1 anno fa

I love this show / recording. All the old, unreleased tunes are stellar Punk/New Wave and hint at what U2 might have sounded like if they had continued on CBS or work with Martin Hannett beyond the 11 o'clock single.

Everything's great about this gig. To understand and gauge U2 of today is to really get into the spirit of this show. At the very core, little has changed.

Someone mentioned Glad To See You Go as a U2 song - it's actually a Ramones cover. The Edge hints at this by playing a few bars in Mount Temple School during the documentary It Might Get Loud.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1980-03-02 - Tullamore da CMIPalaeo votato

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1979-10-05 - Cork da LikeASong votato

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1980-02-26 - Dublin da Bullet_Blue votato

The tracks that latter would be included on Boy have different lyrics or structures, so it's very interesting listening to..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Various Dates

171 recensioni sono state scritte da 66 users.

2015-10-16 - London

Scritto da ajr - 2 anni fa

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get tickets to the live broadcast of tfi Friday in London - I did just that.

tfi Friday launched the weekend for millions of fully signed up lads and ladettes back in the 90's. Brash and soaked in alcohol it was fast paced and at times funny, but always high energy.

Brought back off the shelf for a short run this year it jumped back into living rooms, now owned by the 90's lads and ladettes, on Friday past with U2 as the main draw.

So fast forward 20 hours and I am now stood outside a very small and now defunct theatre with a Production wrist band on my wrist and knowledge that the next two hours will be special.

The venue maybe had 150 in the performance area - a mix of 20 U2 fans, a handful of 40something women reliving their early twenties as Take That fans (for they were on the show as well) and I guess some members of the public. It was a strange crowd, but with the TV lighting it made for a hot sweaty club vibe.

Showtime - Raised By Wolves - the B Man is 6 feet away giving it everything. The sound was incredible and the lads played as if their very lives that night depended on it. I'm no writer, so there is no way that I can give you any understanding of how incredible it was to be in the room. Bizarrely, watching over the weekend on the extended playback, it came across as the worlds greatest live band did an ok job! By now you will have seen it for yourself, and I guess it plays back to way back when when U2 became the only band to ever go DOWN the charts after an appearance on Top of The Pops (UK TV chart show).

A very unenlightening interview later in the show away up on the theatre gallery was nothing more than swapping banter between host and band, and hosts Son and hosts Mother! That didn't matter the band weren't here to chat and we weren't there to listen to them talk!

They closed the TV broadcast with Vertigo. Edge's guitar sound taking our heads off! Song for Someone carried all the emotion and then the "This is our first single.." intro and a version of Out of Control that will be with me until I am no more. Just incredible. The room was too small to hold the energy! Bonotised with champagne and it was thank you, goodnight!

Dallas, Sammy, Jake and Stuart left to pick up the pieces as U" have left the building.

Insane evening - thank you to all who made it happen.

The venue was the Cochrane Theatre, London.

I was told that the tour will play indoors and outdoors next year, and then follow the yellow brick road to Aus/NZ in 2017........ Here's hoping!
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1983-12-18 - London da partygirl65 votato

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2011-10-15 - Hollywood da ahn1991 votato

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2011-06-24 - Glastonbury da patssox95 votato

WOW,wow,wow,wow! This is the best bootleg on this site. i know everyone's favorite show(s) is on you were..
Leggi la recensione completa »