I nostri utenti hanno scritto un totale di 3,912 recensioni sui concerti. Questa pagina è un grande modo per esplorare nuovi o vecchi fantastici concerti o raccolte, basta solo aggiornare la pagina per vedere cose nuove. I concerti maggiormente valutati sono basati su concerti con più di due recensioni. Tu stesso puoi scrivere una recensione se sei stato o ascoltato un concerto, e ti invitiamo a farlo!

Joshua Tree Tour 2017

23 recensioni sono state scritte da 19 users.

2017-05-12 - Vancouver

Scritto da jennagirl - 7 giorni fa

I thoroughly enjoyed the show. I was late getting to GA (3 pm) and ended up at main stage 2 deep from Adam which was still pretty good for a relatively short time lining up. I liked the mix of songs even those "energy drainers". Seeing the whole JT album front to back, performed so well with the amazing stage backdrop was great. Exit was awesome as well as OTH, RHMT, IGC. I loved the new song and while it was a bit awkward as a closer but hope they continue to play it as I think its one of the best new songs in a while. So overall while not perfect, it was still a great U2 show. I admit I was sceptical of this whole tour but am so glad it's on, and that U2 is back in my life. If anyone was on the fence about going, go. It's worth it.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2017-05-12 - Vancouver da Frontrow85 votato

This was my 9th U2 show having seen once every tour since 85. That means the 8th time I've..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2017-05-12 - Vancouver da Birdman33ca votato

This was almost a few different shows blended into 1 for me. The opening songs on the B stage were..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2017-05-14 - Seattle da jennagirl votato

I cant give it 5 because who knows what's next. But an awesome show and an awesome day. Took a..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Innocence and Experience tour

278 recensioni sono state scritte da 168 users.

2015-12-06 - Paris

Scritto da LocalHero - 1 anno fa

I'm french and I do not write properly in English, sorry.

Paris, Sunday, December 6, 2015. A fabulous concert, amazing, energetic and full of emotions. Although the sound was too loud, it will be a great memory. When will the next. More details below.

Details :

2015, I know and listen to U2 since the beginning of their adventure but I have never seen them in concert. WHY, when I've seen dozens of live bands ????

I am a musician (trumpet). Around me, I was proud to announce that for the first time in my life I was going to attend a U2 concert.

On the evening of Friday, November 13, 2015, around 22:30, after a repetiton, I received a text message from my sister who wrote : "Watch the news on television, this is very serious."

In front of my TV, I was at first incredulous and then I realized that the situation was terrible in Paris. People were killed at random in various public places in the capital. I could not go to bed before knowing the outcome of the hostage-taking in "Le Bataclan". Late at night, it was the horrible announcement ; dozens of deaths were reported. I cried.

Then I thought about the U2 concert which I had to attend on November 14. I thought : "I can not go. I can not partying. I have to respect the victims. U2 will definitely cancel his upcoming concerts in Paris. How to go on stage the day after such a tragedy ?"

Soon after, U2 decided to cancel the concerts on 14 and 15 November. My first time at a U2 show was compromised. Yet it was not that I care about. I can still see them again as dozens of victims of the attacks will never be able to attend any show.

A few days later, I thought : "Life must go must go back to the theaters".

The week after the attacks, U2 provided postponing concerts in the 6 and 7 December. While containing my joy (always a thought for the victims, some of my region), I was looking forward to the announcement.

On December 6, at 12:30, with two friends and my wife, we take the road to Paris. We reserved parking in the basement that we find easily.

14:15, my friends decide to go directly to the Bercy Arena take their place in the queue. My wife and I go to "Le Bataclan" and "Place of the Republic" to recollect us. It was a very intense and very emotional moment.

16:30, we finally join our friends who are in the queue, doubling the spectators who kindly let us pass.

We met with youngs of Lyon. We share with them our different musical tastes, different experiences of concerts, our impressions of the quality of concert halls ... We eat our sandwishes.

18.30 Finally, the queue advance ; we lose sight of Lyon. The Arena "swallows" gradually spectators. We are among the first to access the pit. We sit on the edge of the "Red Zone" on the side "Adam Clayton."

While my friends and my wife will buy a souvenir T-shirt, I discover the facilities for the show. U2 machinery is worthy of Arras Main Square Festival or a show of Pink Floyd (or almost). Is the promise of a great show ?

I spotted the t-shirt "Nous n'avons pas peur - Paris" but the French flag is printed upside down. I give up to buy it, I will draw one myself.

We drink a few beers while listening to the background music, the sound is too loud. I protect my ears with plugs. Our tip to buy beer without queuing is to ask a Spanish viewer installed in the "red zone" order them. He accepts, it's very nice of him, his girlfriend sulks a bit anyway.

The pit fills up much faster than the seats that remain for a long time almost all empty. The thought crosses my : "people have requested reimbursement of places after the attacks." But no, it was not until the approach of the beginning of the concert that people take up their seats. In the distance, we recognize Mireille d'Arc among the VIPs.

Before the U2 concert, on stage, "models" (spectators?) Are positioned to help technicians with sensors to perform calibrations cameras to capture the spectacle.

Other technicians, those for the lights, are winched to projectors to fifteen meters above the pit. These are Americans. We discuss with them just before their climb.

The background music does finish more. I do not notice that "People have the power" by Patti Smith is introducing the show. When it becomes obvious that public clamor announces the arrival of Bono "At the other side of the Stage".

It is 20:30. Bono begins : "Vive la France ... Vive l'Europe." It gives me chills. And THE SHOW begins with "Miracle" in chorus brilliantly taken by a public impressive. It rallied as one man is unique, indescribable, unforgettable, stunning. Bono is moved, I feel this. I am happy to be here, I'm in show ("Merde aux cons").

The following titles continue to set an amazing atmosphere in the arena. Everyone is standing, claps hands, sing ... takes part in the show. Bono becomes the leader of the audience. "Bonjour Paris ... Ce soir nous sommes tous parisiens … Si vous aimez la liberté, Paris est votre ville". This day is special for spectators and for which U2 had announced a few days earlier, "We will give the best on 6 and 7 December in Paris."

The show is beautifully orchestrated and offers different atmospheres : energy, strength, memories, melancholy, anger, rebellion ... hope.

Brigitte, a spectator invited by Bono on stage, is to the height of the show. She is in harmony with the scene : black jeans, yellow sweater, yellow flower in her hair and a small French flag. She impresses the audience and Bono by her boldness (she gives a kiss to the four guys), spontaneity ("I'm from Paris, the best city of the world"), her joy to be there (she dances and films the show).

The success of the show is also based on visual effects and very successful lights. The giant screen, through which Bono and the rest of the group walks, gives him a unique dimension. This is unheard of. Bono does not mince words, does not hide his ideas. He illustrates "Welcome to The Refugees" by a very strong image : the stars of the European flag are replaced by drowned wearing a yellow vest floating in water.

The most moving tribute U2 in memory of the victims of November 13 happens to encores. The huge central screen, which crosses right through Bercy, becomes blue, white, red, shows the logo of peace and the names of 130 dead people on 13 November. Bono sings in French a few verses of "Ne me quitte pas" by Jacques Brel.

Bono also invited at the American rocker Patti Smith, has since Friday in Paris for two concerts in connection with the climate conference for a "People Have The Power" in energetic conclusion of a concert rich in color, and videos decibels.

Bono on stage and his three buddies actually give the best of themselves. I feel them very concentrated, very applied. They exchange glances with each other to play better together. They are very friendly and close to their audience. Bono appreciates the clamor and sometimes he does not know what to say. He is sincere. U2 is a very large group.

Very impressive, extraordinary. Why didn't i ever attended one of their concerts ?
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2015-10-10 - Barcelona da u2fancat votato

#4 of 4. This was U2's last night in Spain.. and I was there! Got up nice and late -..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2015-11-07 - Glasgow da u2fancat votato

Hello, hello.. last U2 concert in Britain this year! After an amazing show the night before, I was hoping for..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2015-11-06 - Glasgow da u2fancat votato

After much organisation, the day finally arrived to head to Glasgow to see U2! I even got ready early enough..
Leggi la recensione completa »


U2 360° Tour

722 recensioni sono state scritte da 363 users.

2011-06-18 - Anaheim

Scritto da ahn1991 - 5 anni fa

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The band mixed up the setlist in preparation of Glastonbury and the high powered opener worked like a charm. I actually like the format in which there is only 1 encore break. It seems to work better for me.

Highlights:
THE FLY!! - tour debut, a super charged song, the whole stadium went crazy
One - an extremely powerful speech about shrinking the stadium down to one digit followed by a great performance of the song. I personally think Bono's speeches work way better than the pre-recorded segment. No offense, Aung San Suu Kyi. It's a great thing that you were released, but Bono plays the crowd better.
Streets - I remember my mind being absolutely blown when I heard that intro
Ultra Violet - This beauty makes a comeback after about a month and it's just as great as ever! I personally like this song way better than HMTMKMKM, simply because it works way better with WOWY and MOS.
MOS - very moving because of the Jungleland reading at the end.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2009-09-24 - East Rutherford da EDDMB votato

I really enjoyed this show.MUSE were great both nights opening for the boys.I liked the fact the band mixed up..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2011-07-20 - East Rutherford da EDDMB votato

Loved it.A great way to end the 360 tour for me.The band played a great show this night.They were all..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2011-05-14 - Mexico City da cesar_garza01 votato

One of the best 360 shows in the 7th leg and in the whole tour. The setlist is pretty unique,..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Vertigo Tour

417 recensioni sono state scritte da 123 users.

2006-02-12 - Monterrey

Scritto da Bloodraven - 2 anni fa

20 years of my life waiting to see them, and this is what I got.

The crowd was disappointing, even before getting to the stadium, maybe it's just anecdotal evidence, but there were a lot of people going because it would be cool to say "I went to see U2" even if they didn't know nothing but a couple of songs.

In the stadium, around me I was the only weirdo singing and screaming and jumping while everyone else just stared me from their own seats as if we were at some symphonic orchestra instead of at a U2 show.

In my mind it was just a "not-so-awesome" experience, but when I downloaded and listened to the bootleg it came back to me and no. It was not just "not-so-awesome". It was terrible.
The bootleg is even worse than reality with the few guys around the mic talking through the whole show.

Cielito Lindo was a bad choice itself for Bad, but it was worse that it was the only thing people decided to sing along. It looked like they didn't cared about Bad or anything else on the concert, oh but they can sing Cielito Lindo. I had forgotten how embarrased I felt at the moment (after the initial couple of seconds of "oh, that's cool!" when Bono started it), but the bootleg reminded it to me.

Finally, even after Love And Peace or Else had already started, the guys near the microphone in the bootleg are still discussing and betting that it's Desire what they're about to play.
I said finally because that's all that I could take and deleted it on the spot. Didn't even finished the song.

It was so bad I would find it funny if I hadn't been there.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2006-03-02 - Buenos Aires da patou2 votato

I was there , that amazing night. I'll try to be objective . Bono s voice is not the best..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2005-06-18 - London da EDDMB votato

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2005-05-18 - East Rutherford da EDDMB votato

Great show.I was lucky to have attended 4 shows from this tour.This show stands out,as well as NYC 10.07.05.But,the band..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Elevation Tour

326 recensioni sono state scritte da 85 users.

2001-10-25 - New York

Scritto da oddjob102 - 8 anni fa

I was at this concert. It was my first time back in NYC after 9/11, and you could feel the tension in the air- it was still fresh on everyone's mind. The setlist was perfect- almost every song seemed custom made for the way we were all feeling, or wanted to feel- even the ones written 20 years before. "Streets" was a particular highlight. And during the encore, Bono was wearing a NYPD t-shirt and hat, and all the police officers and firefighters in the house joined him onstage. The house lights were on, everyone was smiling... it was an amazing experience and went a long way to making us feel good again. I'll never forget it, it was the best concert I have ever been to.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2001-07-21 - Turin da clover68 votato

Maybe I’m too biased about this night. Some issues don’t ruin at all what was a perfect special magic night,..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2001-11-18 - Las Vegas da WojBhoy votato

I like this show, I won't beat around the bush on that - sure, I wouldn't say it comes close..
Leggi la recensione completa »

2001-07-21 - Turin da cesar_garza01 votato

A good show that the crowd converted into a great show. Special performances of Pride and Out Of Control after..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Popmart

332 recensioni sono state scritte da 101 users.

1997-04-25 - Las Vegas

Scritto da ric - 7 anni fa

the now legendary (among U2 fans) first night of the popmart tour makes for a very uncomfortable listening experience...! if you put yourself in the position of the band its hard to imagine how awful they must have felt on this night.
a few mistakes are to be expected and totally acceptable on the first night of a tour but this is something else... NOTHING seems to go right for them at this concert and then when you consider the fact that they are performing in front of the world's press, trying to sell their new tour to the world, it's quite embarassing to hear them sound like they simply don't know how, or have forgotten how to play their songs!
most people consider staring at the sun to be the lowest point of this gig but for me its discotheque... even when they get the chance to leave the stage after streets and regroup and most likely have a crisis talk. they have been given a chance to redeem themselves after the pretty awful main set with a killer encore, they come out of their lemon to play discotheque and edges guitar completely breaks down... they must have to literally wanted to be anywhere else on earth but in that stadium at that point...
it's easy to look back, knowing what we know now about how the tour was booked before the album was completed and they had no time to get up to an acceptable standard but i still find this show very uncomfortable to listen to and my heart goes out to the band here.

after listening to this you will need a heavy dose of popmart leeds to cheer you up and remind you just HOW amazing this tour became once they got their heads around how it all worked...!
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1997-05-26 - Washington da cesar_garza01 votato

To me, this is the best Popmart show of the first leg. Crazy things happened to U2 in Washington. The..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1997-12-03 - Mexico City da loftarasa votato

No lows, just highs really!
This was one of the first bootlegs I listened to and is since then my..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1997-08-28 - Leeds da pablothewizard votato

It was raining heavily when we arrived and it never relented all day and evening. Proper lumpy Yorkshire rain too,..
Leggi la recensione completa »


ZOO TV

497 recensioni sono state scritte da 133 users.

1993-06-12 - Cologne

Scritto da GoneBad - 4 mesi fa

At that time, I was overwhelmed by the sheer size, dimension and loudness of the event. It was my first and still only concert of that size, and it was incredible, but I also remember thinking they shouldn't make such a fuzz and just play the songs. Today I see it differently, I love the Sidney Concert film of the tour.
But I also realized that I'm not the type to got to these kind of events. Too many people in one place. I dont feel comfortable.
Strangely, the Dublin-Show that was broadcasted on Zoo Radio shorty after that, managed to be more memorable too me. Therefore, 4 Stars.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1992-06-11 - Stockholm da germcevoy votato

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1993-06-04 - Munich da MattG votato

My ratings were pretty much consistent 3.5's all the way across the board, and here's why. This show wasn't terrible...
Leggi la recensione completa »

1992-06-13 - Kiel da cesar_garza01 votato

The beginning of this show was really strong, with Bono trying to talk in German. Excellent versions of EBTTRT, Mysterious..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Lovetown

171 recensioni sono state scritte da 71 users.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

Scritto da MWSAH - 8 anni fa

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1989-12-27 - Dublin da CMIPalaeo votato

This show is excellent, all the Point Depot ones are. This is seriously one of the best things you will..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1989-11-18 - Sydney da cesar_garza01 votato

A very special show for multiple reasons: they had to evacuate the venue due to a bomb threat (sounds familiar?),..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1989-12-18 - Amsterdam da MattG votato

Nothing I'll be revisiting. Check out some of the earliest Lovetown shows or a Point Depot show to really capitalize..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Joshua Tree Tour

287 recensioni sono state scritte da 94 users.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

Scritto da bodoheil - 1 anno fa

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia da viridian1 votato

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City da IAFAN votato

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1987-11-24 - Fort Worth da cesar_garza01 votato

Just superb! The band was inspired by BB King's presence and turned it up a notch. The JT tour peaked..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Conspiracy Of Hope

21 recensioni sono state scritte da 10 users.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

Scritto da MattG - 7 anni fa

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

247 recensioni sono state scritte da 67 users.

1985-03-21 - Chicago

Scritto da Ali709 - 8 anni fa

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very good recording if you’re looking for the same thing as I was. I might suggest this other show as well, it’s got a longer and a bit better setlist (includes Indian Summer Sky, Surrender, Two Hearts Beat As One,...): 1984-10-23 - Nantes, France - St. Herblain (I found it right after having posted Chicago as this week’s bootleg!).

The whole bootleg and show are just great (talking about this week's show, not Nantes mentioned in the last paragraph!!)! Also, it’s interesting to hear them when they weren’t as big as they are now. The ego hadn’t done its work yet, they are a band who has just become famous and big…you can hear Bono’s comments that reflect this (telling the CBS people: “you want some people? Come up here!” or the comments before Knockin’… there is another part where he says they used to have 500 people watching them and that he’s glad there are so many watching now).

**Comments: Just wanted to point this out…it’s interesting how similar this show sounds to Joshua Tree Tour shows (particularly Paris 87, as I was listening to it at the same time). Of course, JT had new songs and a more confident band…but the (very short) speeches/comments (such as “for a very special man…” or “this is a big place but we’re bigger than this place”) and performances are very similar, which shows they didn’t spend as much time as they do now on how the tours should be, it REALLY was only about the music (though maybe we’re lucky that they changed their manners, or all the shows would be the same, up till now! )
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1985-02-04 - Milan da CMIPalaeo votato

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1984-08-31 - Wellington da cesar_garza01 votato

A very inspired show during weird circumstances. Bono had forgotten his guitar riffs and he had to buy his own..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1985-04-15 - East Rutherford da cesar_garza01 votato

One of the best concerts in the 5th leg of the UF tour. The band was really enjoying their NJ..
Leggi la recensione completa »


War Tour

169 recensioni sono state scritte da 57 users.

1983-05-05 - Boston

Scritto da cesar_garza01 - 2 anni fa

First of all, the FM broadcast is NOT from this concert, it is actually from the show next day, so I think this is the first proper review of the show. And what a show! The band feed from the Irish-Bostonian vibe in the house and they gave it all. The main highlight of this boot is the last performance ever of Tomorrow. If you are a Tomorrow "completionist" like me, you must get this. I don't know why it wasn't played regularly. Another excellent performance was Two Hearts, with the Let's Twist Again part extended. 11 O'Clock was excellent as well. I'm a sucker for the Drowning Man snippet and the final solo is amazing. In Surrender Bono invoked the spirit of Michael Jackson and it was great. I liked the Brick/ A Day Without Me combo too. There's an unlisted snippet of Send In The Clowns in Electric Co. Perhaps the only song I can't consider good is Party Girl. They were still playing with it and it's not the version we know.
Funnily enough, Bono did mistakes between songs, like saying "It's great to be back in NY" (WTF?) or introducing NYD as Two Hearts.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1982-12-02 - Manchester da bowenjaybee votato

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1983-02-26 - Dundee da MattG votato

Rated high, because I really enjoyed this early show. Sometimes the early ones (pre-TUF, in my opinion) really just don't..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1982-12-06 - London da CMIPalaeo votato

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Leggi la recensione completa »


October Tour

107 recensioni sono state scritte da 28 users.

1982-03-17 - New York

Scritto da cesar_garza01 - 2 anni fa

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had slightly different lyrics, like The Cry part in Electric Co. According to Bono, they were almost arrested that day for trying to get into the St. Patrick's parade!
Highlights: Another Time, Another Place, An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart, Rejoice, Tomorrow (not the best version ever, I prefer the early War versions. Bono lied to the crowd saying it was the first performance ever. Naughty Bono!), Out Of Control and 11 O'Clock (Bono talks about Irish stereotypes and does a great snippet of Give Peace A Chance).
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1982-07-04 - Werchter da cesar_garza01 votato

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam da cesar_garza01 votato

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-08-16 - Slane da CMIPalaeo votato

An interesting show. Not great, but not as bad as the band cracked it up to be. Many of the..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Boy Tour

117 recensioni sono state scritte da 42 users.

1981-03-18 - San Jose

Scritto da Dystopian45 - 11 mesi fa

As I remember it, this was a free show or cost next to nothing to attend. It was held in the student union ballroom of San Jose State University. This room was built to be earthquake proof and the floor was suspended on something like springs. When the floor got packed and the music started and people started moving in time with the music the floor started to act like a trampoline. No kidding. If you timed your jump you could launch yourself 3 to 4 feet off the floor. They had to have crew guys hold the P.A. system in place as everything started to wobble. I saw XTC, Huey Lewis, Fabulous Thunderbirds and more in this room and all the shows were amazing with a very intimate vibe. I miss those days.
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco da mookymookins votato

This is one of the best Boy tour bootlegs around and has all the songs you'd expect to hear at..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-06-09 - London da germcevoy votato

Good show, good recording, good performance. Solid all round. How great is it to think that people in the audience..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1981-01-24 - Glasgow da BigGiRL votato

From Pimm Jal de la Parra, U2 Live - A Concert Documentry:

Before Twilight Bono points to the 'Boy' backdrop.
..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Early Days

37 recensioni sono state scritte da 22 users.

1980-03-02 - Tullamore

Scritto da CMIPalaeo - 2 anni fa

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of early songs that were not released until the 2008 deluxe edition of Boy or remain unreleased. Out of a 16 song set, half of the songs fall into that category.

Highlights:
-Silver Lining (early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock) has really good music but the lyrics are hard to hear
-Stories for Boys
-Cartoon World
-Shadows and Tall Trees
-Twilight (very good musically, especially the intro)
-Out of Control
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

1979-10-05 - Cork da cesar_garza01 votato

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1980-07-27 - Co. Kildare da cesar_garza01 votato

Last pre-Boy bootleg and a short one too. There's actually some good stuff here. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock from this..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1979-10-05 - Cork da LikeASong votato

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Leggi la recensione completa »


Various Dates

161 recensioni sono state scritte da 61 users.

1983-12-18 - London

Scritto da partygirl65 - 4 mesi fa

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at the box office on the night of the show. There were several acts playing that night doing one or two songs including Ian Dury and the Blockheads, The Style Council, Mari Wilson and the Wilsations, Mike Peters and Dave Sharp from The Alarm and finishing the night were U2. The audience was littered with celebrities and I found myself sitting next to Paul Eddington (Yes Minister) and Michael Palin at one point. As U2 came on stage I ran down the front so had a perfect front row seat. After U2 had done Knocking on Heavens Door with Mike Peters (Mike taught Bono how to play the song) U2 burst into New Years Day. The next thing I know is Bono is bending down with his arm out to me and I take his hand and he pulls me up on stage. Wow!! I am onstage with U2. In those days it was customary for Bono to pull up a girl onstage during 11 O'clock Tick Tock so this was totally unexpected. Bono gets me to sit down on a monitor onstage whilst performing the song and then sits next to me, puts his arm around me and continues to sing. It is an experience I will never forget and is still the best moment of my life... Thank you Bono
Leggi la recensione completa »

Performance:
Pubblico:
Suono:
Commento generale:

2015-10-16 - London da ajr votato

Having seen a tweet late last Thursday afternoon from U2ComZooMods inviting a reply with just my name to maybe get..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1987-11-11 - San Francisco da Unknown votato

A true raw outdoor performance. Engagement with the crowd takes place at some level on almost every song. Three..
Leggi la recensione completa »

1979-02-00 - Dublin da CMIPalaeo votato

Not a must-have, but an interesting look at U2's beginnings. For collectors of rare songs, this one has three unreleased..
Leggi la recensione completa »